Councillor (elected on a property vote) and one Assembly member (elected on a general franchise vote). Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 105.

The annual salary of the Premier is \$8,000 and that of a Cabinet Minister \$5,000. Each member of the Assembly is paid \$2,000 for each session attended by him and an additional \$1,000 tax free as indemnity for expenses and travelling. The Speaker is paid an additional \$666.60 and a further additional \$333.40 tax free as indemnity for expenses and travelling. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional \$1,000 and a further additional \$500 fax free for expenses and travelling.

12.—Legislatures of Prince Edward Island, 1935-62, as at Apr. 30, 1963

Note.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 75, and for 1924-35 in the 1938 edition, p. 110.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
July 23, 193 May 18, 193 Sept. 15, 194 Dec. 11, 194 Apr. 26, 195 May 25, 195 Sept. 1, 195 Dec. 10, 196	19th. 20th. 21st. 22nd. 23rd. 24th.	4 5 6	Sept. 25, 1935 Mar. 20, 1940 Feb. 15, 1944 Feb. 24, 1948 Oct. 23, 1951 Feb. 2, 1956 Mar. 1, 1960 Mar. 14, 1963	Apr. 21, 1939 Aug. 20, 1943 Oct. 27, 1947 Mar. 30, 1951 Apr. 27, 1955 Aug. 3, 1959 Nov. 8, 1962

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Apr. 30, 1963.

13.—Twenty-Fourth Ministry of Prince Edward Island, as at Apr. 30, 1963
(Party standing at latest General Election, Dec. 10, 1962: 19 Progressive Conservative and 11 Liberal.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and President of the Executive Council. Minister of Public Works and Minister of Highways. Minister of Education. Minister of Industry and Natural Resources and Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Health. Provincial Treasurer, Attorney and Advocate General. Provincial Secretary, Minister of Tourist Development and Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Welfare and Labour. Minister of Agriculture.	Hon. Walter R. Shaw Hon. J. Philip Matheson Hon. L. George Dewar Hon. Leo F. Rossiter Hon. Hubert B. McNeill Hon. M. Alban Farmer Hon. J. David Stewart Hon. Henry W. Wedge Hon. Andrew B. MacRae	Sept. 16, 1959 Sept. 16, 1959 Sept. 16, 1959 Jan. 3, 1963 Sept. 16, 1959 Sept. 16, 1959 Sept. 16, 1959	Sept. 16, 1959 Jan. 3, 1963 Jan. 3, 1963

Subsection 3.—Nova Scotia

The Government of Nova Scotia consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. The Hon. H. P. MacKeen, Lieutenant-Governor at Apr. 30, 1963, was commissioned to office Mar. 1, 1963. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1867) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 106.

The Legislature has 43 members elected for a maximum term of five years. The Legislature elected June 7, 1960 is the 47th in Nova Scotia's history and the 24th since Confederation. Premiers since Confederation are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 107.

The Premier of the province receives a salary of \$12,000 per annum and each Cabinet Minister a salary of \$10,000 per annum. Each member of the House of Assembly receives